Ford V8 Discussion Discussion relating to getting the most out of your Ford-based V8 Miata's engine

Long time listener, first time caller:)

Old 10-24-2014, 02:48 AM
V8 Miata Fan

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Long time listener, first time caller:)

Always wanted to say that...
I have been given the green light by my wife, and allocated funds to start a V8 build!!

It will be very low cost ( I have three kids) and built over time...

I am a Industrial welder/fabricator by trade ( I build Barges for a Company here in Portland, OR. , so I will be doing almost everything myself.

The car is a 94 R package. I will get in to the details whn I start my build thread.

I have been researching what I want to do, for about three years...and over the past four months very seriously. I have really been waiting for the right (read inexpensive) engine to cross my path, so I have been open to whatever maunfacturer, and then decide on everything based on that.

well...I have come across a ford 302 in my price range, and everyhting sounds great about it. the thing I am not sure about is this: it comes out of a 94 ford van. I am going to switch it to carburation, so I am not too worried about the harness and stuff. what I am unsure of is this (finally) does the vehicle the engine comes out of matter? will a van engine form 94 work?

most likely, ill replace the heads, and of course the manifold, but do I need to worry about the internals? im sure I am going to change the camshaft too. is there anyhting I need to really look out for?

it turns over no problem, and looks great. has 120k on it.

thanks for any help...as soon as i pull the trigger, and get the engine, im puling the car in to the garage and starting. im excited, but dont want to be overly eager, and start out with the wrong core engine.

Jason
Old 10-24-2014, 07:25 AM
V8 Miata Zealot

Received 48 Likes on 45 Posts